Not sure of how to effectively use the GT lessons.

Joseph-D
Full Access
Joseph-D
Full Access
03/25/2022 7:08 pm

I have been playing for a few years now and have managed to reach the 2nd Level of the Blue lessons with Anders. After a few lessons I realized that playing the licks up to speed is impossible for me at this time. Feeling frustrated and discouraged I finally started searching for lessons on picking speed and discovered Christopher Schlegel's “Building Speed” lessons and pulled myself away from the Blues lessons to concentrate on my picking speed which is also quite a challenge.

When I joined GT the path was clear to me. Fundamentals I and II and for me Blues Style I and II. At this point I am struggling with speed issues and dexterity in trying to play some of the awesome licks that Anders plays so well in Blues II. I don’t expect to play like him but somehow feel I missed a whole series of lessons on developing speed and dexterity.

Does anyone else have this problem?

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
03/25/2022 9:08 pm
Originally Posted by: Joseph-DAfter a few lessons I realized that playing the licks up to speed is impossible for me at this time.[/quote]

Every guitar learner hits a wall at some point. I know that doesn't stop your frustration! But it might help to know that it is a very common experience. It takes a lot of repetitious practice in a very focused manner to play fast single note lines.

You have to work at playing very efficient, minimal motions in a relaxed manner. Try working on some of these pentatonic licks. They are the kind of physical motions using pentatonic scales that form the basis of a lot of rock & blues style licks.

https://www.guitartricks.com/search.php?search=%22Connecting+pentatonic+patterns%22

You might also get a lot from these pentatonic exercises.

Pentatonic Major Exercises

https://www.guitartricks.com/tutorial.php?input=722