Complete Beginner Guitar?

alfydoor
alfydoor
11/29/2021 6:02 pm

Hi. I'm looking to take up the guitar and really like the look of the site. I particularly liked the free guitar offer, but shipping costs to Scotland make it a bit prohibitive.

So I'm looking to join the lessons and buy my own guitar here. Can anyone tell me the model or specifications or recommend a similar kind of guitar? I do like the idea of the nylon strings! Similar price bracket too?!

Never handled a guitar in my life but since I'm now forcibly retired I thought I'd give it a go. Bit late at 60 maybe?!

Thanks guys :)

# 1
ddiddler
Full Access
ddiddler
Full Access
11/29/2021 8:15 pm

Newcastle boy here so just south of you.

At 67 yrs a bit north of you. Never too late[br]About 18 months now and it's slow going. Don't expect to be on stage anytime soon.[br]Have a look at Guitarguitar, PMT online and Andertons to get an idea of what you might like.

I started with a Tanglewood Blackbird, folk/concert size. [br]Steel string but just took a couple of weeks for finger pain to ease off. You can always fit lighter strings but not nylon strings.

Now I play a Faith Naked Neptune which is a parlour size, a smaller guitar.

Plenty of acoustic below £150

Fender CC60 always gets good reviews as a beginner acoustic. [br]Just go and have a browse and see what catches your eye.

Dave

# 2
alfydoor
alfydoor
11/30/2021 12:44 pm

Cheers ddiddler. Much appreciated

# 3
ddiddler
Full Access
ddiddler
Full Access
12/02/2021 3:32 pm

Anything caught your eye.

Colours, size.

Any stores near you. [br]very intimidating going in to a store at our age.

only had to do it a couple of times. Wasn't as bad as feared

Dave

# 4
alfydoor
alfydoor
12/02/2021 5:08 pm

Hi Dave

Have just bought a cheapo from Amazon for now, similar in specs and price to the free offer (I think!)

Will see how it goes with the lessons from this. No expectations or goals. If it's fun, that'll do me :)

Cheers

Ray

# 5
ddiddler
Full Access