Timing / metronome

Axl_Rose
Axl_Rose
01/21/2003 11:26 am
I have never used a metra thingy in my life. Ive been playing for two years now- am i in trouble!!
Id say im good at time keeping anyway. When ur in a band the drummer keeps the beat anyway so why bother getting worried bout timing.
I dont understand the need so a metra thingy!
# 1
janir123
janir123
01/21/2003 11:54 am
The only time I'm using one is when I'm recording. It's good to have it 'cause you can match everything. If it isn't used while recording I'm almost sure I can't get everything matched. I'm usually using two or three rhythm
tracks for guitar and two for soloing and because of that I can hear immidiately if the timing isn't exact on one of the tracks. It's very easy to slip out of beat without even noticing it....
While playing with a band it isn't that necessary though...
Thanks

Jani
# 2
SLY
Un-Registered User
SLY
Un-Registered User
01/21/2003 1:47 pm
I don't use'em too much too ... You can get one from the net and see how it works for you.

Most recording softwares have a built-in metronome.
# 3
janir123
janir123
01/21/2003 3:21 pm
Yeah, that's what I'm using. But when you get to hardware recording it's whole different story....
Thanks

Jani
# 4
Tele Master
Full Access
Tele Master
Full Access
01/23/2003 1:47 am
I have recently started using one for practicing scales. I find its great for keeping your rythm.
Electric Guitars are the inspiration for cries of "Turn that damn thing down"-Gibson website
# 5
Hootayah
Hootayah
01/23/2003 7:57 am
Rather than a metronome, grab yourself a cheap drum machine, or buy some software like Band in a Box or Pro Tools Free and play midi files.
You learn ten times as much playing scales to actual music than sitting there with a mechanical clicking sound.
Hey you kids! Get outta that Jello tree!! :mad:
# 6
Azrael
Gargoyle Instructor
Azrael
Gargoyle Instructor
01/23/2003 3:22 pm
Originally posted by Axl_Rose
[B