Power chord hand/wrist position

Shadee92
Shadee92
07/03/2021 3:43 pm

I've been practicing power chords for a few months now, and today while watching a video I suddenly noticed for the first time that my hand position seems a bit off

[br]I've tried straightnening the wrist but it just defaults to this bent position, as it is the most comfortable for me

[br]What do you think?

# 1
davem_or
Full Access
davem_or
Full Access
07/04/2021 2:02 am

Everyone has their own style of playing. The goal is to find a position that doesn't put undue strain on the wrist/hand/arm/shoulder and allows you to play in a comfortable position. If you're concerned about the strain you could try moving the position of the neck; for instance, pulling it in closer to your body or tilting it up more or some combination of those things.

However, if everything feels good and you're hitting the chords then why change?

# 2
snojones
Full Access
snojones
Full Access
07/04/2021 2:22 pm

Shadee,

I am an example of the potential problems of bending your wrist. After 25+ years of rabid guitar playing, I had to give up guitar for years as a result of chronic wrist pain. I finally got a good Physical Theripist and I slowly worked my way back to playing. One of the things that she told me to change was how much I bent my wrist . Her thinking was that bends in the wrist place more strain on your tendons and ligiments than a straight wrist. This added strain can lead to problems with you wrist. In your photos you can easily see how your conective tissue has to bend around your wrist, this is what she had me change. I followed her advice and I was able to return to playing the guitar.