Left handed

darickmendes
darickmendes
05/27/2021 8:46 am

good day , so I am a left handed guitarist beginner and I own an electric guitar which is meant for right handed . Is it possible to get improved and play properly with it upside down or its really rare ?

# 1
JeffS65
JeffS65
05/27/2021 1:40 pm
Originally Posted by: darickmendes

good day , so I am a left handed guitarist beginner and I own an electric guitar which is meant for right handed . Is it possible to get improved and play properly with it upside down or its really rare ?

Well, there's this guy. I hear he was pretty good....

Silliness aside, you can absolutely get better. There are a number of left handed guitarists from Jimi Hendrix (pictured), Eric Gales (awesome) to Eliot Easton who were all amazing players. So, no doubt being a lefty is not a reason to stop.

The challenge you may have with playing a righthanded guitar 'lefthandedly' is that it is still strung like a righthanded guitar. Meaning that the heaviest string is at the bottom and the lightest string is at the top (upside down). Not impossible as, if you go watch the amazing Eric Gales play, it's how Eric plays.

Things to be mindful of:

If you want to flip the strings on the righthanded guitar so that the heaviest is at the top and lightest at the bottom (a more standard way to string), you can't just flip the strings this way as the 'nut' at the top of the neck is cut generally for a specific string thickness so you would need to have someone replace the existing nut with a new nut cut for this restring. The person cutting the new nut would re-setup your guitar to play this way.