Using pick for beginners!

niall.magner
niall.magner
03/07/2021 1:59 am

Hi Guys,

I am just starting to learn to play the acoustic guitar and I have problems with strumming by following Lisa McCormick's acoustic guitar beginner videos. My problem is that when I strum down with my pick my index finger always seem to get in the way for smooth strumming.

Can you give me some guidance?

Thanks,

Niall

# 1
JeffS65
JeffS65
03/07/2021 3:13 pm

Here's a post I stole from myself from a while ago. Not sure it it gives you any nuggets of wisdome but worth sharing.

[br]How close is your pick holding to these photos below?

[br]I took a few pics of me holding a pick. Though I've been playing a long time, I either like very small picks (Dunlop Jazz III's) for electric, or for acoustic strumming, no pick. Thing is, playing with no pick acoustically, I may not be as articulate as I'd like. I'd played mostly electric for so long with the tiny Jazz III's, I'd lost my 'skill' with holding a standard sized pick and to be honest, strumming an acoustic song wIth Jazz III's is a bit like using a sledgehammer with set a finishing nail. It's not subtle enough as would be a regular pick. So I've been reteaching myself proper standard sized pick playing.

[br]If you're new, it can be that much harder. A few things you should keep in mind:

--Don't 'over-grip'. That is to say that if you squeeze so tightly in hopes of not dropping the pick, you're gonna drop it. When you strike a string, if there is no give in your grip, the string is going to win that struggle.

--With the photos below, you'll notice that I don't expose an enourmous amount of the pick. That's just natural for me. I also hold the pick under the flesh of my thumb and under the last bone (called the distal phalange...for what it's worth...) of my bent index finger.