Hybrid picking? Do I really need a pick?

Marquis_of_fire
Marquis_of_fire
01/07/2003 5:28 am
I've been playing guitar for about two years now. And I'm getting fairly good at finger picking. I taught my self how to play so I never realy got this strait; What do I really need a pick for? Besides rythem guitar, monotonous strumming, do I really have to have a pick for anything else?
I trim the nails on my first three fingers and my thumb to have a little but of a angled pick shape, and it works for me. But I noticed that even the artists that have 'shaped' nails sometimes use a pick.
What do you use, and do any of you use hybrid picking? ie using a pick and your three last fingers?
----------------------------------
Does anybody remember laughter?
# 1
pstring
Big as Elvis, Baby
pstring
Big as Elvis, Baby
01/07/2003 7:28 am
I hybrid pick, I just find it to be the best of both worlds, I love to fingerpick and have thought of just tossing the flatpick but I like to use the pick for some rhythm stuff. I play alot of country stuff and hybrid picking is pretty much a staple of country guitar and it has pretty much found it's way into most of my playing on electrics and accoustics, but at times I use the flatpick alone for playing accoustic and at times I just fingerpick. It's really is all about personal preference and style, I know when I came to the place where I really wanted to develop my own sound and style, the fingers started playing more and the pick started playing less. If you want to drop the pick, I say fine, develop a unique sound that is your own, it's a good thing...............
# 2
SLY
Un-Registered User
SLY
Un-Registered User
01/07/2003 2:09 pm
Same here, I do a lot of hybrid picking too.