Ibanez rg652ahm VS anything

ikebana
ikebana
12/11/2020 7:57 pm

hello!

So I'm a living room guitarist, a medium-bad one! Musically I like almost every genré I can think of and the streaming services really made it possible to dig deep in records I never would have listened to otherwise. I (my wife) want to keep the gear in my house down and my go-to instrument is Fender Telecaster Performer. My other is a Gretsch Electromatic. I do like my Gretsch but it mostly stands there on it's own. I will be selling that one i think.

So....I want something totally new. I want to learn how to play faster. I don't need another guitar for that, but as you say here in sweden "Nöden har ingen lag". As usual I dig deep into the task but I tend to get hooked up on the prize almost directly and forget everything else.

My budget is 1500 to 2000$ and yes, I can buy a cheap one that serves me well. However I don't have that many other hobbies exept running so I can afford to own a quality instrument. I also enjoy the feeling of good craftmenship.

I have my eyes set on an Ibanez RG652ahm. But are their other alternativs compared to that one that I should be thinking of? I want something that feels comfy and fast.....and good looking. Hit me! :)

# 1
manXcat
manXcat
12/11/2020 9:33 pm

My thoughts.

You know what you're looking for in a "totally new" guitar better than we can or do, so I think you know best what type of design to go with.

The Ibanez Prestige RG652AHM in Nebula Green Burst is a damned nice guitar in every sense if it's what you want? Aesthetically DDG in that colour and modern Superstrat style, although I appreciate beauty is a very 'in the eye of the beholder' thing.

Have you actually tried the fingerboard and neck hands on to be sure that flat shred is for you? A lot of money to outlay if you haven't. A v[u]ery different[/u] Wizard neck profile and radius to both the Fender and Gretsch you currently have.