having problems putting solos/leads together!-(scale help!)

johnbiggs
johnbiggs
12/31/2002 6:50 am
I play heavy metal. I am pretty new at playing lead. I am having trouble making "interesting" leads and solos. If someone were to play a 3 power chord rhythm, and i had to solo over it.....i would jsut wank around on 3 finger increments as fast I can around 12th fret and higher. I dont understand how things fit with scales. Do you take all the notes possible in an entire pentetonic scale and try to peice them together to get something sounding good or what? is there a way i can create a good rhythm, and then by knowing the key the rhythm is in, i can play the corresponding scale/notes?? I DONT KNOW HOW IT WORKS!!!!!!

any help would be fantastic guys, thanks

# 1
N4Player
N4Player
12/31/2002 7:54 am
John,
There are many good lessons here to help you figure this out. I play metal also, you can check my lessons on my site - everything is based in "A" off your (minor) pentatonic scale. I have tabs,midi's and wav files of me playing the licks also. May help you get a grip on the leads.
-Bob
http://guitar-pedal.com

[Edited by N4Player on 12-31-2002 at 02:15 AM]
...another toy, to help destroy, the elder race of man
# 2
Josh Redstone
Josh Redstone
12/31/2002 5:10 pm
Your gonna wanna learn how key signatures work, then it'll become easier.
And God said, 'Let there be rock!'
-And it was good
# 3
N4Player
N4Player
12/31/2002 5:44 pm
Josh brings up a good point. Although the lead progressions (patterns) will be the same in different keys - you should learn where on the fretboard you would start a lead in "E" vice "A" for example. Without this knowledge, your leads will sound like a Slayer lead (whatever notes he happens to set his fingers on, regardless of the key of the song)
# 4
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
12/31/2002 10:25 pm
Originally posted by N4Player