Are Jacksons any good?

GregoryB
GregoryB
12/26/2002 12:17 am
Hey everyone, my new Ibanez still isn't working after string change (and I've discovered some more annoying things about it), and I've decided to take it back and get a new guitar. I was thinking of the Jackson DKMG. I'm an intermediate-level guitarist, and I hope to get into the heavy metal shred kinda thing. Anyone have experience with the Jackson DKMG? Or even Jacksons in general? I've heard from some people that Jackson quality has gone downhill. I just don't want to buy it thinking it's perfect and then discover some serious flaws (like I did with the Ibanez). So if anyone has had a DKMG, let me know how you like it. Thanks.
# 1
trendkillah
trendkillah
12/26/2002 5:48 am
I don't have any experience with the model you're after, but I don't like Jackson in general. Basically, I think they're way overpriced.

I've very recently become a huge fan of Carvin guitars. I think for their price, you can't get anything better. The only problem is that unless you live in California, you can't go to a shop to try one out.(I think they have a good return policy though) Unless you can find a used one somewhere, but I doubt anyone who owns a Carvin would ever willingly part with it.
# 2
SLY
Un-Registered User
SLY
Un-Registered User
12/26/2002 4:33 pm
Haven't played the model you mentioned, but Jackson is my absolute favourite... I believe Jackson's Soloist & Dinky models are the most comfortably playable guitars ever.

Compared to Ibanez & ESP , Jackson's are of higher quality , and prize.

I hear that Carvins are excelent too, but never had a chance to play one before.

[Edited by SLY on 12-26-2002 at 10:36 AM]
# 3
N4Player
N4Player
12/28/2002 5:37 pm