string gauge/action

tammielyn.ts
Full Access
tammielyn.ts
Full Access
07/18/2020 4:45 pm

Hi Mike

so, i'm a newbie, learning since last November. i have arthritis in my hands and fingers., been adjusting well and doing all i can to modify. one thing i had my repair shop do was put a lighter gauge string (not sure how light) and i asked them to lower the action. i am still having some difficulty especially on strings that seem higher from the fretboard than the others, the B and the high E. So, im in a tutorial with Lisa at the moment learning finger picking and the two chords are the Em and the Am., when pressing the B string down for the Am chord i am having to press so hard., and it's causing me hand pain. what would you suggest? I did pay for a lesson and it's with you at the end of July, i can save these questions for you to see then if you like, but any suggestions in the meantime, and what is the lightest gauge possible without comprimising sound too much. Thanks in advance! Tammie

# 1
snojones
Full Access
snojones
Full Access
07/18/2020 8:12 pm

You may need some more "set up" done on the neck. If you measure them are the e and b strings actually higher off the fretboard than the other strings? That could require some more "set up" work. If you nut is filed wrong that could be the answer. Go back to the shop that changed your strings and lowered the action and talk to them about your e and b string problems. If those strings are too high off the fretboard that could require filing your nut a bit. Probably best assessed by a skilled luthier who is looking at the instrument and talking with you about what your problem is.

Is your pain, when you finger the b string of the Am chord, from the arthritis or is it from a lack of callouses? Those narrow strings do cut into your finger tips more.

Do you stretch before you start playing the guitar?

Does the pain subside after you warm up your fingers by playing guitar for a while?