amp settings tutorial - complete beginner

p_p_s
p_p_s
05/13/2020 2:14 pm

Hi All,

Just few days ago (at 38 years old) I started my adventure of learning to play a guitar.

I've bough a Yamaha Pacifica 112VM RM and a Boss Katana 50 MkII, and started with the first Fundamentals lessons on GuitarTricks...

Now, when it comes to the amp - I have no clue what all the knobs are about, and it seems that none of the resources I find can explain it "like I'm 5" - I just don't get it.

e.g. why are there 3 different volume knobs? one on guitar, and 2 on the amp (vol & master). Which one should I use when?

Also, what are the "channels", why do I adjust the "clean" channel (?), etc.?

Similarly, I have no clue what the "tone" knob does on my guitar, and when I should play with it...

I did try to look for a lesson on these on GuitarTricks, but didn't find any.

For the moment (it's literally my 3rd day learning to "play" the guitar), all I did was selecting "Clean", Gain to 0, EQ settings to middle, and no effects...

Still, no clue what Tone on my guitar I should use, which is even more confusing as it has no scale on it ;)

What helped you understand those knobs and settings?

Will it come "on it's own"...?

Where do I start?

Any hints are more than welcome :)

# 1
Captain_Crunch
Captain_Crunch
05/13/2020 5:33 pm

Hello!

Besides that on each song lesson here you will be told about the gear and settings needed to get close to the record sound... you can google a bit around. I found this: [br][br]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGVQ84h1JfI

cheers,

# 2
DavesGuitarJourney
DavesGuitarJourney
05/13/2020 7:59 pm