Just Starting Help Please

peterjohnston887
Full Access
peterjohnston887
Full Access
03/19/2020 6:46 pm

Simple C chord. It's taking me all my time to get this without the E buzzing or my nail interfering with G.

Only been practicing a day but it's left me wondering?

Re -positioning my thumb etc doesn't help.

When my fingers toughen up will this help?

Any advice welcome, thanks.

# 1
Frizzy Totay
Frizzy Totay
03/19/2020 7:48 pm

Hi.

As with all my "advice" posts, I'll just say, I'm no expert. However, I can play a C chord!

If I'm correctly reading your post, this is the first day you've being playing a C. If so, you're being a little harsh on youself. Give it a few days or a week and see how it goes. It's best to stick to the advice given (probably by Lisa) in relation to hand and instrument positioning, but in time you'll make adjustments to those things to suit yourself. You could try these if you're getting desperate, but I'd stick with the plan for the meantime.

I doubt finger toughness will change anything, but you will be able to stretch your fingers more easily in time. This should make the C and all chords that much easier.

# 2
peterjohnston887
Full Access
peterjohnston887
Full Access
03/19/2020 8:22 pm
Originally Posted by: PoundhoundFeels like my fingers are too fat but they're not )

Hi.

As with all my "advice" posts, I'll just say, I'm no expert. However, I can play a C chord!

If I'm correctly reading your post, this is the first day you've being playing a C. If so, you're being a little harsh on youself. Give it a few days or a week and see how it goes. It's best to stick to the advice given (probably by Lisa) in relation to hand and instrument positioning, but in time you'll make adjustments to those things to suit yourself. You could try these if you're getting desperate, but I'd stick with the plan for the meantime.