The myth of the "self-taught" guitarist.

kingdavid
kingdavid
11/14/2002 8:14 am
A friend of mine(who doesn't play the guitar,or any other musical instrument for that matter)was once being critical of my approach to learning the guitar,his bone of contention being my use of books,obtaining tab(and from it being able to play)of songs even he knows from the net,and so on.He was of the opinion that the best guitarists,the ones with "real" talent,in general are those who fiddle with their instruments on their own and are able to figure these things out.In other words,"self taught".
Now,as I've come to learn from those of you who happen to know this,someone like Joe Satriani is a very good guitarist.Some would say gifted.Others(like the writers of the copy on an Ibanez poster I saw in a music store) would say he's amongst the most respected guitarists in the world.I've never heard any of his stuff,but from what I hear,he's good.
And he went to Berkelee.
Which,I think,disqualifies him from my friend's list of the good and the gifted;
"He was taught guitar in a school,for God's sake!"
You'll also hear some(or many) of the guitarists you admire say,in interviews in magazines,on TV,on websites and so on,say that they are self taught.I've also seen some people on this site,in relation to how they learnt,say they are self taught.Quote unquote.
The following is an extract from an article I read from the site http://www.guitarnoise.com that I really agree with.I'm writing it here coz these sentiments about self taught and all that can have a demoralising effect on guitarsits,and especially learners,in as far as their skill level and all that stuff is concerned.
Here goes: