Newbie facing the first wall !

SalvaX
SalvaX
09/12/2018 4:25 am

Hi everyone. I am a 55-year old complete beginner, in this program since a couple of weeks. I really love it and practice approx. 2 hours per day (per night, actually). Many THANKS to GT team ! I find the Core Learning System strong, helpful and consistent.

I completely loved it... till Chapter 4 Lesson 5 (“Songs to Play with Your 5-Chord Power Pack”). Well, I still love it now, but I feel this very lesson is a kind of first wall I am hitting. Proposed songs are great but GT expecting that a complete beginner can play at a tempo of 120-125 bpm is a bit over-optimistic and makes my daily practice routine quite painful all of a sudden after days and days of excitement.

[br]Your comments and experience are welcome. Many thanks

—-Sal

# 1
LisaMcC
Guitar Tricks Instructor
LisaMcC
Guitar Tricks Instructor
09/12/2018 2:39 pm

Hi Sal,

Thanks for your feedback, and so sorry for the 'wall'. I know what a discouraging feeling that can be.

One thing to know about hitting walls while you are learning music is that it is a perfectly normal part of the process, and every single musician goes through it.

Everyone's 'walls' will be different - but still, there will always be times when the next challenge that is presented seems like too far a reach. But you will get there in time.

Meanwhile, I'd suggest not attempting to play along with the songs that feel too fast for you right now (understandably so!). Just let yourself practice one or two of those songs on your own, totally at your own pace, nice and slow to let the skills to begin to gel.

The 'up to speed' version is something to aspire to in time - but meanwhile, the main point is to hone the skills (besides the speed factor) that are embedded in the song. Chord clarity, chord changes, etc.

All best wishes, Lisa

Lisa McCormick, GT Instructor
Acoustic, Folk, Pop, Blues

Full Catalog of Lisa's Guitar Tricks Tutorials
Find Lisa on Facebook!
# 2
SalvaX