One year on...

Alpha_Monkey
Alpha_Monkey
09/01/2002 11:48 am
Okay, I've been playing for a good nine months (although the first 6 weeks I just ****ted around). While I'm fine with my chords, speed and accuracy, and I've got the hang of simple riffs (radiohead, muse, those kinda things), until now I haven't really bothered to look at scales much...hence I have no clue when it comes to constructing my own riffs and chords.
And my palm muting is piss poor.

Basically, I was wondering where I should be at 1, 2 and 3 years down the line, bearing in mind that I now put in a good couple of hours practice a day. I just don't want to get lazy...
# 1
TheElectricSnep
TheElectricSnep
09/01/2002 5:36 pm
It varies from person to person. After a year I was round about where you are now, although I'd looked at some scales so I'd suggest you do that next. Try recording yourself as well, and put that recording away for six months. Listen to it again at the 6th month mark to hear how you've improved. If you carry on at 2 hours a day and set yourself goals you will improve, trust me.

Good that you're playing Radiohead as I have a way to relate that to what I've said. After about a year I was trying to learn songs from OK computer. I could manage some chords alright but the more technical work on songs like Airbag, P.A, Subterrainean Homesick alien etc was beyond me. A year later this didnt seem to hard to me, I could get the book of tab and pick up bits of the songs quite quickly. In two weeks time I will have officially been playing for half a decade (wooohooo!) and now have the technical ability to learn and play the entire album. Thats a goal I set myself years ago and have now reached :cool:

Good luck.
'There's no such thing as bad weather, there's only the wrong clothes...'
# 2
Joseph
Joseph
09/02/2002 1:26 am