How to RECORD and MIX Percussive Fingerstyle

Meridirh
Full Access
Meridirh
Full Access
05/06/2018 3:25 pm

Hey everyone,

I've been noodling around with shaping my percussive sound on the guitar for quite a while now. However, I simply cannot get it sound as "crisp" and "poppy" as the percussive elements in this video - I've got the same mics but cannot get the sound of my recordings sound as clear as in this video.

So I was wondering if someone here got the knowledge and experience to explain to me a few things about how to correctly record and mix for this kind of sound :/ It's kind of freaking me out =(

(the SOUND I'm looking for starts at 0:58)

Video

:/ Please, xD I need some serious help with this one lol

Thank you all ^^

Lukas

Limits are selfmade. Break beyond them!

www.meridirhproductions.com | Too old to learn multiple instruments? Let's put it to a test...

Guitar: Started January 2016

Styles/Genres I am currently studying:

- Classical Guitar

- Latin Style (Flamenco, Soleares)

- Folk Style (Pop, Celtic, Irish, Gypsi)

- (Fingerstyle) Blues

- (Fingerstyle) Jazz

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
05/07/2018 3:59 pm
Originally Posted by: Meridirh

I've been noodling around with shaping my percussive sound on the guitar for quite a while now. However, I simply cannot get it sound as "crisp" and "poppy" as the percussive elements in this video - I've got the same mics but cannot get the sound of my recordings sound as clear as in this video.

Hey, Lukas! You might directly message that guy & see if he's willing to let you pay him for a Skype lesson to give you some insight & info.