Spider exercise

jits50
jits50
03/28/2017 12:40 am

I am a beginner. My fingers don't stay parallel while pressing on the fret. I do arch the wrist. The problem is when the fingers approach the strings particularly the middle and ring finger they tend to land together around the same fret. Also arching the wrist causes pain in the wrist and the forearm. Moving sideways and vertically is painful on the spider exercise.

# 1
jeffo184
jeffo184
03/28/2017 4:19 pm

Learning to play guitar is a lot like learning to play golf (I enjoy both). They both take a lot of time and patience. I remember way back during my first months of learning guitar. If I tried to play a "d' chord it was all just dead strings when I strummed it. I told my instructor that my hands would never be able to make those shapes and maybe I just wasn't cut out to play guitar. He told me to remain patient and to practice. He was right.

The shapes start getting burned into muscle memory and you will improve rather quickly. Before you know it you'll be ale to play any chord and learn to start soloing if you go that direction.

There's no substitute for paitence and practice. Good luck!

# 2
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
03/28/2017 8:11 pm

Just to chime in here. try to play without arching your wrist, and don't do anything that causes pain, it can lead to serious issues in the future!

But like Jeffo said, it takes practice to build the muscle memory. It takes a lot of time to get the basic foundations down. Be patient, it'll work out. Just keep in mind, if it's painful, stop doing it, and try holding the guitar with your wrist straight. This may be challenging at first and you might feel that your fingers aren't reaching far enough, but if you practice this way, which is the right way, you'll eventually get the hang of it.

- Billy

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 3
jits50
jits50
03/29/2017 2:07 am