Picking while soloing

rasmus1610
rasmus1610
03/02/2017 11:23 am

Hey guys,

I'm actually pretty new to the guitar (working my way through fundamentals I which isn't too difficult) but I like to solo a bit with the minor pentatonic scales to some blues tunes.

I'm wondering how I should pick while soloing. Alternate picking or just normal "downstroke" picking...Is there even a consens about it or is everybody doing it like he likes or even changing (alternate picking for fast things and normal picking for everything else).

Would be great if somebody could help me here.

# 1
IstvanPetrie
IstvanPetrie
03/02/2017 1:13 pm

Hi rasmus,

I'm not sure there's a true consensus. Personally, I try to use alternate picking where possible when I'm running through scales and soloing, but there are sequences where this might not be the most efficient way of playing the notes.

For example, if during a solo I had a pause and was then running through a new passage, I wouldn't start with an upstroke just because my previous sequence of notes in the solo ended on a downstroke - I'd view this sequence as a new starting point and start with a downstroke. However, if starting with a downstroke was leaving me out of position for my next passage, I might intentionally start with an upstroke.

I wouldn't think it's really good practice doing all downstrokes unless you're looking for a particular sound that this might give you.

More advanced players (than me) can do sweep picking for some fast soloing which is effectively playing a sequence of downstrokes or upstrokes.

Hope that made sense!

# 2
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
03/02/2017 3:20 pm
Originally Posted by: rasmus1610