Question for technique about barre-chords

SurburbanBoredom
SurburbanBoredom
02/28/2017 9:52 am

hi Im a newbie here and wanted to know if guitar tricks advocates when forming barre chords to position the index finger first then the middle, ring and pickie fingers or is it the other way around? Im bit confused because in guitar fundamental 2 Lisa teaches a example when moving from a open chord to a barre chord she teaches you position the index finger first then the others.What is the most effecient way to form barre chords for good habits and future success?

# 1
Joe105
Joe105
02/28/2017 12:44 pm

Hi'

I am a beginner. I put the index finger down first to establish the initial fret position and then the other fingrers. As you get more proficient you will find that the interval between putting the index finger down first then the other fingers will get progressively shorter until the time period disappears. This takes time of course. Just practice and practice. You will get there.

Don't forget your posture. Correct posture makes barre chords a bit easier.

Pay atention, stay focused. Eventually it becomes automatic. Like driving a car.

I wish you success.

Joe

# 2
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
03/07/2017 12:19 am
Originally Posted by: SurburbanBoredom

hi Im a newbie here and wanted to know if guitar tricks advocates when forming barre chords to position the index finger first then the middle, ring and pickie fingers or is it the other way around? Im bit confused because in guitar fundamental 2 Lisa teaches a example when moving from a open chord to a barre chord she teaches you position the index finger first then the others.What is the most effecient way to form barre chords for good habits and future success?