should I get a vintage guitar?

taylormarkow
taylormarkow
07/01/2002 11:19 pm
In a while I'm gonna get a lotta money. (my bar mitzvah, cause im jewish. I want to spend my money on a guitar. Hopefully a telly. Should I buy vintage or not

Dad always thought laughter was the best medicine, which I guess was why several of us died of tuberculosis.
# 1
James8831
James8831
07/02/2002 11:43 am
Not unless it's cheap/your Dad/Uncle/Older brother is in the music business,lots of stuff masquerading as vintage is...rubbish,and overpriced. It takes an expert to buy vintage gear,all mine are modern.Suggestions for an absolute beginner :

1.)
Yamaha Pac 112 -nice small neck,very tough contruction and electronics,get a painted one as the bodies are tougher, i have a natural finished one and its as soft as a bolied egg.

2.) Cort Cl 100/200 Les Paul ish and excellent for the money.
If you play already :A Yamaha S(B)G or one of the faded Gibsons,will see you right, -probably too expensive if you're not sure you want to keep on playing the guitar.

In the end it's up to you -get what your hand can "fit",will make a long note *without* being plugged in and do TRY to ignore the name on the headstock,let your ears decide.
Accuracy,you say? hmm interesting concept..
# 2
mc9mm
Guitar Tricks Instructor
mc9mm
Guitar Tricks Instructor
07/02/2002 12:14 pm
On the other hand nothing modern has
that extrordinary feeling a vintage instrument has.
I always knew my friends father had an old
guitar in his closet, but I never cared that much.
Then two weeks ago, I asked if I could look at it,
and guess what he was hiding in his closet:
A 1965 Fender Stratocaster.
I was so happy!
I must have played that guitar for like 2 hours.
The sound was incredible, although a bit too vintage
for my metal-needs.
But it was a wonderful guitar.
So I would recommend you to buy a vintage guitar, because its just plain wonderful.

But I do agree with James that you need someone
with fair knowledge of vintage guitars.