Why do some guitarists think the guitar is so unique?

SJWeissen
Full Access
SJWeissen
Full Access
05/06/2015 12:17 am
I have been playing the guitar for over 20 years, never seriously until fairly recent (last year to 18 months). I did play the clarinet pretty seriously even being in my universities jazz band. I have been a member here for 6-8 months and have enjoyed every minute and my guitar ability has increased very nicely in that time. I am a completely happy customer. Being somewhat of an academic, I tend to do a lot of research and reading on whatever I’m interested in and listen to as many informed opinions as possible when making a choice. Ultimately after doing a lot of research on how to study guitar and particularly the music I wanted to play, I choose a private tutor and the book A Modern Method for Guitar by William Leavitt. I left private study for various reasons mostly because of my work and travel schedule and ended up here at Guitar Tricks. I have continued and finished Modern Method level 1 and John Ganape’s Blues You Can You. I am currently still working my way through Modern Method level 2 as well as Blues level 2 here on Guitar Tricks. I don’t know if my history is relevant to my question, but you have it incase there is any bias in the question.