G'day from Australia!

Stringybark
Stringybark
04/21/2013 4:33 am
Hi everyone,
I am just starting out with the guitar. In fact, I'm so new, I don't even have a guitar yet :D

I thought I'd first figure out the learning resources online before purchasing a guitar. I like what I see here, so next step: what guitar to choose? I know it will be electric and I will want to play jazz/blues/bluegrass type of music.

Any suggestions as to what guitar to choose? I don't want cheap and nasty that will kill my enjoyment of learning. I am looking for a good quality workhorse that I will not want sell because it's rubbish.
The accidental guitarist.
# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
04/22/2013 6:52 pm
Welcome, Stringy! There are so many good beginner guitars to choose from, it often depends on what your price range is. That said, this is great topic to bring up in our Gear Discussion forum too.
If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
Neal Walter
GuitarTricks Channel Host
Neal Walter
04/23/2013 12:13 am
wow, that IS new! You've definitely got your priorities in order. And it's so much better to learn on a quality guitar than a cheap one.

Classic choices for blues and jazz are Gibson semi-hollow bodies like the ES 335 and 175. These would work well for bluegrass too since the tone is mostly clean an these guitars both have a sweet clean tone. There are other companies that make a semi-hollowbody style guitar but I'm not well versed enough to give you a recommendation.

The Fender Telecaster is a top choice for country or bluegrass and blues but not so much for jazz because it has a thinner, bright tone. Blues and jazz guitar sounds best with a deeper, thick tone.
[FONT=Book Antiqua][FONT=Arial][FONT=Tahoma]Neal
GT Channel Host[/FONT]
[/FONT][/FONT]

http://www.guitartricks.com/channel/
# 3
Stringybark
Stringybark
04/23/2013 4:13 am