Frustrated

a98gsxr
a98gsxr
09/20/2012 9:11 pm
I've been playing pretty consistently for about 8 months and although I have progressed I still cant play songs that every instructor on this site says is easy.
I know how to form all the major chords and a few minor ones, but I cant change between them in a beat or two. I know a few scales but even after hours and hours on end I can't pick up speed without screwing up. I did the Core learning system all the way to Blues 1 level but I just dont have any accuracy or speed. I spent the hole day today trying to figure out the strumming that Lisa McCormick does in Bobby Mcgee. She plays it slow which I can do and it sounds a certain way but then she says "get loose with it" and it sounds like something totally different but I have no idea what she did. How do you get loose with it? Other than the Core Learning system, is there anything on this site acoustic that is for beginners that cant do the so called easy songs?
# 1
john of MT
Full Access
john of MT
Full Access
09/20/2012 11:37 pm
We've all heard it, many of us have repeated it; "practice, practice, practice." In this case, i.e., dealing with chord change difficulties, time spent with a SLOW metronome can be just the ticket. ;)
"It takes a lot of devotion and work, or maybe I should say play, because if you love it, that's what it amounts to. I haven't found any shortcuts, and I've been looking for a long time."
-- Chet Atkins
# 2
haghj500
haghj500
09/21/2012 12:34 am
Choose 2 cords, lets say G and D. Make a G, release and make it again. Switch to D, do the same thinng. Back and forth for say 15 minutes. Then choose two other chords and do the same with them. At first take it slow make sure each string rings clear for each chord. When you can do that, how to make the chord should be burned in.

Work using the chord patterens till you start getting enough speed to keep up with chord changes. Then start changing the chord patterns to build speed with other chords.