Hey Guys Need Some Advice On What To Get

dixxxiehaze
dixxxiehaze
09/09/2012 8:13 pm
hey about to go out and purchase either an amp or a floor board

and i know there will most likely be an uproar of how digital amps are the devil in all honesty i know you cant beat a all valve amp but i am just learning and want the flexibility of diferent amps and sounds and effects to really build on my development

so heres the question

first of all mult effect floor boards such as line 6 x3 live,line 6 hd 300,400,500,zoom g5 and mustang floor has anyone had any experience and if so what is the best i am looking at live playability aswell not just for getting a good tone after hours of tweaking

also how will they sound through a smaller amp 20 watt

and next question is for a amp which one would you guys advise on getting

its a toss up between
fender g dec 3 30
fender mustang 3
line 6 spider jam
line 6 spider 4
peavey vyper valve 60

(or any other ones you guys recomend)

i like the idea of the spider jam and the g dec due to backing tracks e.t.c as i dont currently play live so dont have the luxuary of having a full band to play with)

and on the back of that would i just be a better option getting a floor board and leaving the amp seeing as its either just for bedroom or live(which i can just plug into pa)

any help apreciated or any recomendations

thanks

kyle
# 1
haghj500
haghj500
09/09/2012 11:24 pm
I've had a spider jam for about 1 year. I love it and the fast settings to get almost any tone you want. For a beginner it has to be one of the best amps out there.

I'm 51 and grew up on tube amps, but for just practicing even getting load, I don't hear a lot of difference. The modeling is so close and you do not have to turn it up to get the great sound from it.

The recording feature of the Jam opens may doors. Even just recording your self and listening back. You can also plug in a MP3 and jam along with it.