View post (The music store experience)

View thread

James8831
James8831
04/12/2002 5:21 pm
Originally posted by kingdavid
RASK:There was this guy at a poolroom I played.We were playing a loser pays game.So he steps up to the table and starts phucking around like he doesn't know s***.Then asks if I would like to play a loser pays.And who I'm I to say no.He breaks.NO.He misses the ball like he's a complete novice.I take my turn and pot a ball or two.He takes his turn.I'm contemplating telling him how to hold the cue-stick,when suddenly his fingers land on the table in distorted positions like he has some sickness or something.Hands stable as hell.I got whipped.Jump shots,crazy spins,off-cushions,the works.
Your story reminds me of this guy.
Man!!

I was in the opposite position. I watched this young(er) guy beat my 2 friends hollow..then stepped up with the classic "er,would you mind racking up, I cant quite remember how they go" He thought i was an even bigger dickhead and subconciously slackened his attitude.. he'd been beating people all night, so i felt good when i beat him--- these days i doubt if CAN remeber how to rack up :).

Now back on to topic, today i was in 2 guitar shops looking at amps. In the first one this young [what the hell is that on your head young man?] guy,proceeded to demonstrate an amp to me which was completely out of my price range, with no attempt to offer me a go,after some cajoling he kindly demo'd the other amp they had (again with no attempt......).

The underlying attitude being we'd rather get back to stock checking/playing pokemon/spanking the monkey.

The shop was empty apart from him and his boss. Is this a good attitude to attract sales??, i thought as i left.

In the second shop (busy) I asked a guy in his fifties (co-owner i think) about amps and he almost brushed me off (more understandable) but i persisted and asked for a go.

When he found out I had a Gibson he became a little more interested.