A Minor is Killing Me

unadulterated_devin
unadulterated_devin
02/14/2012 9:25 pm
Does anybody else have trouble with this? I have fairly short fingers. They aren't especially thick, but the only way that I can get all three strings to ring properly is to use the back of my fingernails to hold them down on the frets. I'm tearing the fingernails up and the damage seems risky since they're there to protect the skin underneath.

I'm not quitting by any means and I'm practicing every day, working on the chords I know and practicing the in combination for about an hour every day. I'm also a college student and there's not a lot more time than that to spare since I'm doing a ton of reading and I'm just not the type of person who can learn by doing a bunch of constant reading.
# 1
hunter1801
hunter1801
02/15/2012 1:08 am
You should definitely NOT be playing with your fingernails on the strings :confused: I can't even picture what it is that you are doing. Either way, I can tell you it's wrong if you are damaging your fingernails. Always be playing on the tips of your fingers. Like if you are pointing at the fretboard through the string. Neither your nail, or the "pads" of your fingers should be touching the fretboard. Sometimes the pad is ok, but NEVER the nail......you aren't by any chance playing with your hand backwards and upside down are you :p .....that's the only way I can picture you playing with your fingernails holding down the string.

"A minor" is one of the easiest chords for me, and I have short fingers also.
It's just 3 fingers and they aren't even placed in an odd way. If anything, this is one of those most natural feeling chords for your hand I think. First let's see if you are actually playing it "correctly":

First finger should be on C (2nd string, 1st fret).
THIRD finger should be A (next string up on the 2nd fret).
Second finger (middle finger) right above the 3rd on E (4th string, 2nd fret).