Audition in the future and scared sh*tless

zeb985
zeb985
02/26/2002 11:19 pm
First of all, i just want to say whats up to everyone. Its been a while sence ive been on here.

Here is a question that you can probably add to your most unlikely asked questions list. anyways Im in my first year of college and have been playing the guitar know for about two years. I want to declare my major to be music performance but I have to audition for that degree. I know im not even close to being able to pass the audition. In the audition I have to be able to perform whatever major and minor scale they say, be able to sight read, and be able to improvise when they tell me to, also i have to prepare a solo and perform a jazz lick. I can wait until a year from august to declare my major and have to do this audition. I no you all have never heard me play but im curious as if you think it is even possible for an average player (of two years) to pass this audition if i got an instructor (and told um the situation) and studied the guitar for about 8-10 hours a day for the next year.
two wrongs dont make a right but three lefts do.
# 1
Jimmy Page XVI
Jimmy Page XVI
02/26/2002 11:27 pm
If you want to major in music performance in guitar, I'd say give it a try. If you have two years of practice playing then you must be very familiar with technique and somewhat exposed to theory. Therefore, by having at least that, you and your instructor could dedicate the most part of the lessons to theory and music composition, its incredible what a person can learn in a year...
As far as the audition, well if you take theory lessons about scales, chords, etz. then you will be familiar with song composition and the different styles of music, so it will be a little less hastle than you might think.