New To Tricks, Hiya.

MTIBBITTS
MTIBBITTS
03/23/2011 10:46 pm
Hey all I am new here to guitartricks. com and thought I would drop a hello in the forums here...

Hello! (lol)

I have been playing guitar for about 17 years now, Played rythym, bass, lead/backup vocals for a band in my hometown. Over the last 7 years I have really gotten into Open D tuning... and in my passion lies my dilemma.

I have soo many pieces of songs written in open d but have gotten pretty lost as to how to put them together. I have always been a fan of the blues and it shows in everything I play. I have been going over the lessons by Anders Mouridsen but have not yet come across anything on open d tuning. Everywhere I look for tutorials, lessons or chord formations in open d I usually end up getting near nothing but slide or picking, and fingerpicking is by far not one of my strong suits.

I have had one of my original works played on the radio, a piece in double drop d. I have been trying to convert that song to open D and have been failing. I am currently working on my first album however that may take longer than I originally anticipated due to not being much of a songwriter lol I can write a tune no problem but words, not so much lol.

So it's nice to meet all you fellow musicians and I hope to learn so much more,

Cheers!
# 1
sixpicker
Telecastered Instructor
sixpicker
Telecastered Instructor
03/24/2011 8:23 am
Hey MTIBBITTS,
Welcome to GT, and I'm sure you'll like it here. I play alot of stuff with a dropped E string, even drop both E strings sometimes. There's alot of today's country that uses the concept too, playing with barres, and some really cool riffs.

I like to pick a hot lick, and go all the way back to that low D note. Waylon Jennings was probably the first artist I heard do this, and also many more. Hank Jr. also had some great songs in drop D, and also Charlie Daniels. I'm not quite sure what you're looking for yet, but let me know if I can help you with anything.
# 2