Keeping it Simple

froggy62
froggy62
12/31/2010 3:39 am
I am a beginner and have been playing guitar for about a year, maybe I get 30 to 45 minutes a day working 10-12 hours a day. Been playing Blues harp for about 35 at least, I dont read music but I am learning tabs. Playing harp I moipulate and bend the notes as it works and all I have to know is what key the song is in and I cross up to the right key of harp. Too many rules and all I just play the blues. Now with guitar I think I could be making it too hard by worrying about chord progression, chord theory (however helpfull alot) scales, dominant this and that, hey here it is anybody feel the same as maybe more progress and motivation would be if they simply KISS keep it simple, and worry about the rules later as I learn the chords and tight up technique. KISS ya know. ????
# 1
drf46
Guitar Tricks Instructor
drf46
Guitar Tricks Instructor
12/31/2010 5:39 am
Hey Froggy62,
There are lots of great theory lessons on this site and they have their place. However, if you've been blowin' the blues for 35 years all you need to do (IMO) is pick that guitar up and play bro. There are only 5 or 6 notes you need and you more than likely know them. I appreciate good harp music so if you've got some to share please post it. Take care Froggy62.
Doug
# 2
sixpicker
Telecastered Instructor
sixpicker
Telecastered Instructor
12/31/2010 7:29 am
Hey Froggy62,
I'm the same way with guitar, give me a key, and then I just listen for changes. It seems like you know the keys, you just need to apply it to guitar. It's not as hard as you might think, for example if a song is in the key of A it will usually have at least the 1, 4, and 5 in it. In A thats the A chord, D chord, and the E chord. Even if you don't read music, you seem to know alot about it. I still think you should learn music and theory, but there's no reason you can't find other ways to apply what you already know while learning it.