EMI Popping on Amp

bobby_t
Full Access
bobby_t
Full Access
11/15/2010 4:55 pm
I'm just starting to learn and I have a Line 6 Spider IV Amp. It pops whenever the AC turns on, or if I open the Microwave. Even flipping a light switch will make it pop to a lesser degree. I'm in an apartment so I apparently get this from things happening in other units as well since it can just be sitting on and it will lightly pop once in a while. This doesn't seem that it should be normal to me. Does anybody have any suggestions?
Thank you, thank you, I'll be here all week.
# 1
dougjt
dougjt
11/15/2010 5:40 pm
Try a different plug. If you turn something on amp ur amp pops is probably on the same circuit and apartments are wired by the lowest bidder I have personally seen some interesting wiring jobs in buildings like that.

But it might not due any good, since all the units are likely grounded on the same block.

Option 1 :shady cheap method:

Go to ur local hardware store for about a buck buy a plug that turns 3 prongs into 2 ( this isolates the ground which is were U usually pick up noise) U can then run a ground wire from the little metal clip on the plug to any ground. (this is not necessary but in case ur building gets struck by lighting or something it will be safer)

Option 2 Expensive:

Buy a quality power condition which will be more money then your amp.

I would try option 1 I use it a lot to kill 60 hz noise in various electronics
# 2
bobby_t
Full Access
bobby_t
Full Access
11/15/2010 8:33 pm
Thanks Doug. I'll try option 1. I might even have one of those adapters already. It's not worth the cost of option 2.
# 3
samata
samata
11/16/2010 2:52 am
Originally Posted by: dougjt

U can then run a ground wire from the little metal clip on the plug to any ground. (this is not necessary but in case ur building gets struck by lighting or something it will be safer)