Intermediate player (I think) with time trouble...

Jimmy Page XVI
Jimmy Page XVI
02/10/2002 2:05 am
Hi, I started playing the electric guitar about a year and a half ago and I've catched up very well the instrument thus far. However, since I lack the time to play in bands, I do not get to play many pieces with percussion, therefore I lack experience in timing. I have played with a metronome before, yet there is something ( I really don't know what it is) that I still can't catch. For example, I took the solo for one of my favorite songs, Crazy Train, and learned it note by note, yet when I go and play it against a marked time, I end up either lagging behind or blazing ahead, never just perfect. Which leads me to many questions, one of which is how does a guitarist know if he is in the right time when his attention is on hitting the correct notes of the solo? Is there anyone else who has the same problem? How did you solve it? How can you make tha metronome to "work"? Thanks for your reply, I need it...
# 1
Incidents Happen
Incidents Happen
02/10/2002 3:09 am
i've been playing 10 months ( just turned 14) and also am an intermediate player, but moving fast. the thing you do is if you get the foot-beat ( i got it) you know, keep the beat with your foot, you should be alright. if not, focus on the beat, then try playing something simple with the beat, then move it up to the solo. its not that hard once you get used to it
# 2
lalimacefolle
lalimacefolle
02/10/2002 9:07 am
That's it. You have to hear the rhythm inside, so you need to tap your foot. Or move your body, whatever... Learn your solo SLOW, then move it up to speed.
# 3
Azrael
Gargoyle Instructor
Azrael
Gargoyle Instructor
02/10/2002 3:04 pm
does a guitarist know if he is in the right time when his attention is on hitting the correct notes of the solo?

THAT is the problem!