I Just Had The Coolest Idea (programmers take a peek)

markdeaton
markdeaton
02/06/2002 2:00 am
With all the gajillions of tabs out there, I came to the conclusion that there needs to be a particular piece of software written NOW. I'm not a programmer, but I have the idea, so people spread the word and maybe someone will implement this (if this already exists, then poo!):

A program where you can IMPORT tablature from a .txt file or a .doc, etc., and PLAYS THE SONG using guitar samples. I'm willing to build the sample libraries, note for note, using a wide variety of tones with my POD 2.0.

Whatcha think? For the guitarist in a pinch without a guitar, he/she can even write tab with this program and play it back using the built in sampler.

Seems it would be rather simple to import a tab, load up a sample set, and the software would read the numbers, etc and play the song. I'm willing to convert as many tabs as time allows to the right format.

Wheeeeeeeee!
# 1
Branislav
Branislav
02/06/2002 12:34 pm
I could make it, but--->there's Guitar Pro, and it does it with MIDI.
Keep Rockin',
Branislav
http://www.stormbringer.1444.net
# 2
markdeaton
markdeaton
02/06/2002 1:30 pm
Yeah, but does it import tabs? And we all know how crappy MIDI sounds. Useless. I'm talking about building entire libraries with real guitar samples and using those.
# 3
Branislav
Branislav
02/06/2002 3:28 pm
Yeah, MIDI is bull****.
Idea is very good..but there are many problems now :

1) note length.
You can add in your library different tone durations, but in tabs there is not rhythm, just tones.

2) tone
You must record much different tones.

3) pull-offs, hammer-ons, bends, harmonics, tremolo... you'll need two lives just to record all that :)

4) all that will be hard to transport on the net because of file size, sound files are big...

BUT if you do record it, I will make program :)
Keep Rockin',
Branislav
http://www.stormbringer.1444.net
# 4
ZackyH
ZackyH
02/06/2002 6:50 pm