Using notation software for songwriting

shred-zombie
shred-zombie
05/07/2010 6:21 pm
Does anybody else use software such as Guitar Pro, Finale, Powertab, tabledit to write their own music in? I find for me it really makes the whole process much faster and I don't have to ever worry about forgetting music :)

Speaking of which, anybody here use Guitar Pro 6 yet? How is it compared to version 5?
# 1
Jarsew
Jarsew
05/07/2010 9:04 pm
Yup, I have been using Powertabs for like 6 years. Thats what I use to write stuff down; and even at one point I would solely use it to actually write with. But I realized that it doesnt transfer well; Whether it was actually playing the music with somebody or recording. I would literally have 3 guitars doing their own thing and it would sound awesome. Yet when I got the Reaper recording program, I would physically record all 3 guitars and their parts and it just didnt sound and flow as well. So even though I still use it, I try not to use it to write; just keep track of riffs.
# 2
JonChorba
JonChorba
12/02/2010 2:13 am
I use Guitar Pro 5. I haven't tried 6 yet but I hear good things!
Looking for Guitar Lesson in the Dallas/Fort Worth area? Check out my Guitar Lessons In Arlington website!
# 3
Jake Boyce
Jake Boyce
12/09/2010 6:24 am
Guitar Pro 6 takes some getting used to but it's worth it. There's so many more things you can tweak to get it to sound the way you want. It's not going to sound like the real thing, but it's nice to work everything out in your songs and know what you'll be doing when you record.

At first, the workspace will not seem as good as it was in GP5. But after a day or two, the new setup will make way more sense. It feels like I've been much more productive in my writing process.
# 4
darkfrett
darkfrett
01/02/2011 9:07 pm