Hand size question

Ed
Ed
01/31/2002 4:59 pm
I just started learning last week and am going through the pain of getting my finger tips toughen up at this time. I have been concentrating on learning the C cord for several days and keep laying my fingers on the strings. Having a hard time keeping my 1st finger on the second string while trying to get to 4 and 5. I'm new sorry if I discribed it wrong.

Since I'm new at this I did not think to ask at the music store about hand size and length of the neck. Being new I don't know if it's just me (probably is) or if I bought the wrong type of guitar (Ovation 257). Is there a chart or some sort of guide to help out newbies, "if your arm length is this and finger length this we recomemd you start with this size guitar".

I just want be starting off in the right direction.

Thanks for any sugestions. Now time for some more pain on the fingers.

Thanks
Ed

# 1

01/31/2002 5:09 pm

Well, join the club!

I had the same problem when I strated out. The problem you're facing is lack of streching in the finger. This is absolutely normal at first.

The thing is you're asking your fingers to strech in ackward positions. This will only become better with time. As you play more and more, your finger will strech and you'll be able to play lots of chords.

It's always hard at first to get use to these new positions but don't fear, it's the same for all of us.

You'll also find it harder to play on an acoustic guitar then on a electric. For this reason I always recommend learning chords on a acoustic first. Then when you play the electric, you'll have a better control of your chords.

hope this helps you out.
# 2
James8831
James8831
01/31/2002 10:19 pm