A Dilemma: to grow Finger nails or not.

u10ajf
u10ajf
01/21/2002 3:39 pm
Hi there, I've been playing rock guitar for several years now and am now pretty good at it but I want to learn how to
play classical guitar which requires finger nails. I have worked very hard on my tapping to the point where both hands had calluses. When I grew finger nails it made tapping very difficult indeed but I really envy the way classical players can tremolo pick with their fingers and pick out bass notes with the thumb. I know EVH has a way; you pick with a plectrum and hammer on the bass notes. This isn't quite the same though and I want to learn how to do the classical thing on acoustic. Does anyonw know if it's possible to get removable artificial finger nails or something? Can you think of any other solutions? do I really need fingernails for classical guitar?
If I couldn't laugh at myself how could I laugh at someone less ridiculous?
# 1
lalimacefolle
lalimacefolle
01/21/2002 5:56 pm
I've heard about removable fingernails, check out your local woman's perfume store.
As for do you HAVE to grow fingernails, well, if you are going to play the Carnegie Hall, yes, but for your own enjoyment, no...
# 2
u10ajf
u10ajf
01/21/2002 7:14 pm
righty oh, time to stick oranges in my bra and wear a skirt.
If I couldn't laugh at myself how could I laugh at someone less ridiculous?
# 3
lalimacefolle
lalimacefolle
01/21/2002 7:16 pm
Be sure to post a picture...
# 4

01/22/2002 2:13 am
Classical guitar was played long before fingernails became the norm. However, for the tone and precision that an aspiring student of classical guitar seeks, fingernails are a MUST.