Need recommendations for solos to learn

1Life1Chance
1Life1Chance
08/27/2009 5:58 am
Basically, I've been playing guitar for about 15 years. I can play most scales at full metronome speed 244/4 bpm. I can pretty much play at 350/4 bpm. I'm basically looking for solos that will push me a little bit but that will be attainable. Usually I can play many parts of a solo, but when it gets down to playing the super fast sections, I fall flat. It's awfully frustrating to try to learn a complete song and get stuck in a short section of lighting fast notes. Obviously it's not all about speed, I also need just general bending/hammer on/pull off practice to obtain those speeds but am wondering if anyone knows any good solos to learn that I can use to build my chops. I don't want to run before I can walk, but it just seems that there is always some part i can't get.
# 1
mrkbrks
mrkbrks
08/30/2009 5:51 am
Get the John 5 tab book Requim. That will test you all you want.
# 2
Jason_Dionne
Jason_Dionne
08/31/2009 5:09 am
Originally Posted by: mrkbrksGet the John 5 tab book Requim. That will test you all you want.

+1

Anything by yngwie Malmsteen,
Joe Satriani - Surfing with the alien
Jeff Loomis
# 3
Greg Vinson
Greg Vinson
09/04/2009 8:51 pm
I would urge you to consider spending very little time learning other guitarists solos if you want to be a unique, interesting, cool player. The coolest solos by people like Vai, Malmsteen, etc, are cool because those guys developed their own vocabulary of phrases that don't sound like anybody else.