Guitar DIMENSIONS & Co! (body, neck, colors)

sansa
sansa
06/28/2009 10:04 am
Hi! I'm practising on building guitars and now I'm wondering many many things that I can't find easily on the web. I have just bought a milling machine(it's great!) and I was just looking for some necks(ok, it's too difficult I'm a beginner).

So I begin from the most important: BODY THICKNESS
I would like to know the dimensions of Fender unusual model's, Gibson's, Rickenbacker's, PRS's and danelectro(why not?) bodies... Fender most famous ones are written in every guitar site I know(I write it here too: 1 3/4") but the others are forgotten by everyone...
So anyone know it????? Well if you have a template(so difficult to find them) it's better! :)

Second: COLORS
I just can't find standard colors on the web. Just people who make paint job for you and want so much money! I have first to find the right color and second understand what kind of paint is ok..
Like you know Nitro, Poliester, there are many water paints, oil paint etc. Or I tested Shellac with Pumice that is incredibly cheaper than the other but you have to spend much time to make it...
And one other question: what paint is compatible with an other one. Like Nitro filler necessarily with nitro colors, poliester not imperatively with colors with the same substance; But Shellac?? I know it's not compatible with nitro but there are many many other colors I could try with.

A little suggestion for beginners: SWIRL http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8XUEbXAm-hY&feature=fvst

Third: NECK and SCALE
Know the thickness of some neck (at nut and at 12th fret)?
In ibanez.com you can see every guitar has a great description for the neck too. But the other guitars Rickenbacker, Danelectro, Gretsch etc. not one word for these great guitars.
And Scale? There are many sites with Fender's and Gibson's scales but not for the same old guitars...