Technique ---> music?

caponi14
caponi14
05/28/2009 12:05 pm
After one year of playing (Very seriously!) i want to know something.
I have got alot of physical technique in my fingers (result of 4 hour daily practice) and i can do some cool stuff, but the things is this.

How do you turn technique into music, as i said i have got alot of technique down already, but i can't make it good sounding music. Is there a way to practice it or some lessons about ideas that i could review?

Would absolutly love if you gave me some attention on this?

(Im self taught by the way, only got help from this site and all you great folks. This site have given me so much! And im forever thanksfull! Guitar is my passion!)
# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
05/28/2009 1:00 pm
Originally Posted by: caponi14How do you turn technique into music, as i said i have got alot of technique down already, but i can't make it good sounding music. Is there a way to practice it or some lessons about ideas that i could review?

Great question. Is there a specific kind of music you are trying to do?

I suggest going through the courses in that case:

http://www.guitartricks.com/course.php?input=rock1
http://www.guitartricks.com/course.php?input=rock2
http://www.guitartricks.com/course.php?input=blues1
http://www.guitartricks.com/course.php?input=country1

Or if it is classical:

http://guitartricks.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28987

If it is jazz go here:

Intro To Jazz Style Guitar
http://www.guitartricks.com/tutorial.php?input=519

Jazz Ala Joe Pass Series 1
http://www.guitartricks.com/tutorial.php?input=149

Jazz Ala Joe Pass Series 2
http://www.guitartricks.com/tutorial.php?input=268

Jazz Ala Joe Pass Series 3
http://www.guitartricks.com/tutorial.php?input=708

Chord Melody 'After You've Gone' Jazz Guitar Style
http://www.guitartricks.com/tutorial.php?input=644

And other GT instructors also have some wonderful jazz stuff out there, too!