difficulty singing while playing

gary_g5
gary_g5
04/20/2009 3:18 am
I'm going through Lisa's fingerpicking tutorials, and it's fun when she throws a song with words in there. While I'm not having any trouble playing the music, I can't do it while singing at the same time. I had that same problem whenever I tried to sing and play the piano together too. When I was in 6th grade, my class did a Charlie Brown Christmas play and I played Schroder, the piano playing kid. The only hard part of the role was when I was supposed to play a few bars of Fur Elise and say "It's Beethoven Christmas music" at the same time. I'd learned Fur Elise many year before, so I could play it without thinking. I practiced for hours trying to say the line along with the music, but I never could do it. I think I ended up just stopping playing and then said the line.

I know that part of my problem is that I'm still new at the guitar and concentrating pretty hard on forming the chords and doing the picking pattern at the same time, so I'm hoping maybe later I'll be able to sing along. But I'm wondering if it's common for some people to have trouble singing and playing at the same time?
# 1
Neal Walter
GuitarTricks Channel Host
Neal Walter
GuitarTricks Channel Host
04/20/2009 7:22 am
Hi Gary,

Singing and playing is rough to get down at first, it took me awhile too. What worked for me was practicing each part separately until I had them down and then trying them together. I think it's a matter of getting your brain to processes two seperate rhythm and melody patterns at the same time, drummers have to do this when they play (without the melody part), playing on rhythm with the right hand, another with the left and another with the feet, etc.
I would try to ease into it by simplifying the guitar part enough so that you can do both at the same time just to get used to it. Maybe strum the first beat of each measure or every other measure as you sing and work your way into it from there.