Stubby Finger Syndrome

jazzn01
jazzn01
04/07/2009 6:56 pm
Hi All,

Taking up the guitar at 60 and loving it!! This is a great course out of the many I have tried.. Kudos to Christopher for his fine teaching technique.

O.K. My problem is stubby fingers.. I was not blessed with long flexible digits and find it almost impossible to cover 4-5 frets with my pinky and index finger.
I don't even want to talk about those wonderful barre chords!
I do all the exercises with little to no improvement.
Has anyone else had this problem? If so, how did you overcome it. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Jazzn01 :confused:
# 1
Razbo
Full Access
Razbo
Full Access
04/07/2009 7:23 pm
My fingers are short. No one I know has fingers shorter than mine. Seriously! It has always deterred me from trying to learn lead guitar. I'm finding my limited "reach" to be less of a factor than I feared.

I'm only beginning my second month and I notice a big difference from just a few weeks ago. I suspect you'll see definite improvement even over a very short time if my own experience is an indicator. Some things may never change and I may have to move to (rather than reach for) some notes sometimes, but it's all good.

BTW, I am 45 and have not tended toward dexterous pass times. My only suggestion is practice, practice, practice! My pinky always seems to have that "worked out" feeling these days. But it's definetly getting stronger and listens to me more attentively.

Just for fun: I measured my index finger. It's 2 & 1/2 inches measuring from the crook between index & middle. Are you stubbier than that? :)
...so ever since then, I always hang on to the buckle.
# 2
jazzn01
jazzn01
04/07/2009 8:12 pm
Hey Razbo,

Thank you for the response. I guess you have me beat as my index measures a whopping 3 inches. Shezzz, I should be playing like Clapton.

Seriously though, I am just getting very frustrated with the finger stretch issue but will just keep on trying.

Best Regards

Jazzn
# 3
Gothax