Would new strings make a big difference?

gary_g5
gary_g5
03/15/2009 2:51 am
I'm new to guitar, and I recently bought a new Seagull Entourage 6-string ($300) from a small guitar shop in town because it was the best one they had in my price range. I don't know what brand of strings it came with, but they sounded and looked pretty good. Then today I was in another guitar shop in another town and tried a couple of Blueridge guitars ($800+) and I was amazed at how much different they felt. It was much easier to play and the strings felt like I needed much less pressure to play chords. Was this because of the difference between the overall cost of the guitars, or was it simply a matter of different size strings with different tension? I'm getting frustrated with learning on my Seagull because of the tights strings, and these other guitars felt better and I'm wondering if new strings would help me. Thanks.
# 1
hdfatboy92
hdfatboy92
03/15/2009 3:04 am
Hi Gary,
I am still relatively new to the guitar myself but I can offer my own experience regarding beginner guitars and strings. My first guitar was in the same price range and also sounded decent but I brought it to a guitar shop for a setup and new strings. The set up fixed a high fret and the smaller gauge strings made it easier to play and hold down chords. it was well worth the $50 investment. little things like that can make a world of difference. I hope this helps.
# 2
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
03/15/2009 3:41 am
First thing you should do when you get a guitar from a shop is put on new strings and set it up correctly. For Electric that means adjusting the pickups and bridge to the correct heights and setting up the intonation.