I was wondering something

goldenarmsx
goldenarmsx
01/12/2009 4:44 pm
I started playing guitar seriously since September. Nothing really consistent lesson-wise though I did get a hold of some websites and pdf files and a chord book, which I have to admit is pretty complicated at a lot of points. While I can wing my way through some songs and have a pretty firm grip on at least the Am pentatonic scale, before coming here, I was wondering something.

For the longest time, I've been enamored with Tool, and they playi n Drop-D, which I actually like more because of the more soothing sound. Is it necessary to master standard tuning, and then Drop-D, or can you just go straight to alternate tunings without getting involved with standard?

For more information, I had started out with an acoustic, but the strings keep hitting frets something fierce past the tenth fret, so I am currently playing on a Peavy Predator my dad owns (and is it just me, or are the tone knobs on the Predator there for decoration, cause they haven't done anything but spin...)

Thanks for answering.
# 1
RickBlacker
Full Access
RickBlacker
Full Access
01/12/2009 5:09 pm
Hi golden,

I dont really have much to add to the drop-d tuning other than, when I first got my guitar and was chatting with an instructor at a local shop, he told me to not drop tune. Learn the guitar with it's natural tuning first. Makes since to me.

As far as the tone controls? I just replaced the pickups on my guitar and when I did, i completely removed the tone control and replaced it with another volume control. I never used the tone control, so for me it was useless. I'd rather be able to have independant volume controls for each pup.

Having said that though, there are probably lots of folks out there who do like having tone controls. If you're tone controls don't seem to be working perhaps there is something not wired up correctly or maybe the control itself is not working.

Good luck.