PIT REPORT - Three Days Grace in concert

wildwoman1313
Full Access
wildwoman1313
Full Access
11/17/2008 7:28 pm

ADAM GONTIER of Three Days Grace

Once upon a time, in a life before babies and flagging 401(k) plans, I was a working musician. I played a Yamaha acoustic and twelve-string Ovation and sang in crowded smoky bars around Pittsburgh. I gravitate to the stage and the energy of live performance. It’s the only place to be if you like your music raw. If you’re into interactivity. To this end, I wade deep into the mosh pit, that Mecca for the uninhibited, and surface somewhere front and center for a full-on hit.

I recently caught Three Days Grace at The Bloomsburg Fair in Central Pennsylvania. Like Rush and The Guess Who before them, Three Days Grace, who have opened for the Stones, are from Canada. They began playing in small clubs and cafes and have built the band up to playing venues holding upwards of 15,000. The alternative rock/post-grunge band was formed in 1997 and have been on the road for the past couple years in support of One-X, the 2006 follow-up to their self-titled debut album. One-X plumbs the roller coaster psyche of lead singer and rhythm guitarist Adam Gontier. Written during his stint in rehab for an addiction to the pain killer Oxycodone, the record addresses not only the isolation of Gontier’s drug addiction but, too, the isolation felt by the band as a whole while touring as madly as they do. One-X stands for the feeling of being singled out in a crowd, of not quite being one with what’s going on around you.