Instructor Interview - HP Crazy

ren
ren
11/03/2008 10:52 am
This time we talk to Hanspeter Kruesi, better known to Guitar Tricks as HP Crazy... so, HP...

How long have you been an instructor at Guitartricks?

I joined guitar tricks in spring 2006

At what age did you start playing guitar?

Well you won’t believe it but I started to play guitar at the age of 20. But I have been playing piano at the age of 7 I think. The time I started to play guitar I already have been a professional pianist and I wanted to learn guitar as fast as possible so I practiced guitar 5-16 hours daily till the age of 30.

Did you have lessons, or are you self-taught?

When I started I was self-taught but after a year of playing I felt that I needed a good teacher. From then on I took lessons and later I have studied music and guitar playing at a university level in Zürich.

Do you play any other instruments, besides guitar?

Piano - actually on a similar professional level.

What was your first guitar?

A fender strat.

What sort of rig do you currently use?

Guitars :

GODIN LGX
Epiphone Elitist - Twisted Sister
Yahama steelstring guitar
Amalio Burguet - Nylonstring guitar ( without plug or pickup )

Amps :

Studio : Line 6 POD + Fender Blues Junior with a Hughes and Kettner Tubefactor preamp for distortion sounds

Live : Fender Blues Junior

FX :

Studio : Lexicon LXP - 15 , Eventide Ultraharmonizer H3000-SX, Waves software-plugins, Cubase 4.1

Live : Boss DD6, Alesis Midiverb III

Mics :

Studio : Neumann TL in combination with a TL Audio tube microfon preamp, equilizer and compressor.

Live : Sure SM-57

What's your dream rig?

I’m very happy with my rig.

Who was your biggest influence, both musically and in general?

Oh there were many - I name the most important :

Touch technique : Stanley Jordan
Rock : Yngwie Malmsteen, Joe Satriani, Garry Moore, Steve Vai, Eddie van Halen