Instructor Interview - Benoit Nadeau

ren
ren
10/15/2008 9:04 am
October's instructor interviewee is Benoit Nadeau. With well over 100 lessons on the site, I'm sure most of you are familliar with him. From metal to acoustic, he can do it all. Over to you Ben...

How long have you been an instructor at Guitartricks?

I've been an instructor since 2002. Back then, I was working for an airline company as an accounting/IT guy. I really needed a creative outlet from all that logical processing. I played guitar a lot but always wanted to teach what I had learned over the years. I was surfing the net one day and found www.GuitarTricks.com. I knew right away I wanted to be part of it and so I sent an application and was accepted.

At what age did you start playing guitar?

I started playing seriously at 15 years old.

Did you have lessons, or are you self-taught?

I tried once to get lessons to learn more advanced music theory but never got hooked enough to continue them for very long. I'm a hands-on guy so sitting down and listening to a teacher go on and on annoys me. This is why I've been successful learning by myself all those years. I need to play the guitar to learn it. Theory doesn't stick much unless I can apply it right away. I have a lot of respect for musicians that have extensive theory knowledge.

I have an uncle who is a great guitar player and got a lot of lessons from him when I was younger. My mother has also been singing since she was very young so there was a lot of music around the house growing up.

Do you play any other instruments, besides guitar?