mp3 Encoder quality?

mpaq
mpaq
03/09/2008 5:05 am
Im just getting into recording, and have pretty basic stuff -
My recorded wave files sound great but the mp3's exports sound brutal by comparison - i would expect that you give up a lot through the compression but wondering if it can be better. Even at higher bit rates there is still a huge difference........maybe this is normal? I'm using Audacity and export to wave first, then use Wavelab to export to MP3 format. I believe it uses the LAME encoder however it also gives an option to use Fruanhofer which I haven't tried. If I just use Audacity for both the quality seems even worse.
Is my weak link the shareware im using? I have a 24bit MI Audio card in my PC, a POD and an Alesis Studio 24 mixer.
I pretty much am using the default stereo 24 bit settings in Audacity, but usually compress the final mix before exporting.
Any thoughts as to what i can do to improve the quality of the mp3's, using what i have?
thanks
# 1
light487
Forum Administrator
light487
Forum Administrator
03/09/2008 5:44 am
lame_enc.dll (or LAME Encoder) is the one I use..

You need to make it so you're making at least 128kbps (if not 192kbps or higher) bitrate and 48KHz sample rate, and on hi-res/hi-fidelity settings.. otherwise it's going to blow..

Not sure why you are using Audacity for recording when you can get a full-featured DAW for free. I use it, Superman uses it.. a lot of professionals use it (though they also buy the commercial license since they are making money out of it).. You can get it at:
http://reaper.fm/

It's also only 3.3meg download.. less than your average MP3.. lol

Seriously folks.. this is the DAW to have..

EDIT:

Oh yeh.. with the WAV file.. make it as high a resolution as you can.. 24bit is good.. don't compress the WAV... why would you want to?? That's what the MP3 encoding does..