View post (Practice)

View thread

Silimtao
Silimtao
02/19/2008 4:13 am
Originally Posted by: spychocycoSo the question that I have now is, how do I use that when I sit down to practice tomorrow? Do I still work with that exercise some. Since I've nailed it, do I move on to the next one and leave it behind?

It seems a little silly, but I'm really looking for some guidance on this. Thanks.

Hi, Spy,

I'm in the same boat you're in. I'm mostly self-taught, and came back to playing after a more than 10 yr. layoff.

One, I'd say you don't really "leave it behind"- you're going to carry it with you and build on it, ideally.

For example, I discovered a site yesterday devoted to SRV, and the instructor was instructing Rude Mood. I kinda know how to play it, so after watching the vid, I just kinda started jamming with the structure of the guitar part, and started making it my own, know what I mean? I was building on the basic I IV V progression (it is I IV V, isn't it?), not overtly trying to sound like SRV, and was just letting me fingers fly.

Set goals- find yourself repeating the same patterns? Try it backwards, in different positions, different fingering. Challenge yourself.

Slowly, I'm hearing music in my head again- something I used to have all the time. I practice in my head, when not holding the guitar. Then I see if I can duplicate what I've heard on a real guitar.

In many ways, I feel like a cold beginner. I still have most of my picking chops, but now my goal is to express what I'm feeling/hearing in my head.

When I feel really bored with an exercise, I'll go off on a real tangent, like playing (or trying to) Greensleeves; I found the music on youtube. My point is keep moving. If you're bored, imo, you'll really not get anywhere at that point in time. So do something else that's new to become unbored!