Influences vs. Plagerization

jkuervo
jkuervo
12/23/2007 2:19 am
I am new to writing songs. In fact I wrote my first one this morning when I woke up. I think it is halfway decent and with some tweaking it might be a decent song lyrically (I am still trying to figure out what chord progression I want.)

The thing is it sounds a bit like a song I heard a few days ago. I guess I am having a moral dilemma. I don't feel I copied the song but you can definitely see that it is heavily influenced by something.

As a song writer where do you draw the line? I want to have my own voice but I am in love with music and listen to it quite a bit. I don't see how someone can write something totally original every time out of the gate.

I'm not going to scrap the song. I'm going to figure out the chord progression and keep tweaking it as it is good practice.

I was just wondering if any of you have run into this and thought, "should I really be writing this? Am I copping a groove from a different artist?" What was your answer to this question if it has come up?

Thanks
# 1
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
12/23/2007 2:37 am