View post (Something New and Something Old)

View thread

Drew77
Drew77
11/14/2007 4:10 pm
Alright well I am into progressive and experimental music, and where as you don't like to think I really enjoy it. I really am not looking to sell my music to people who don't like to think, honestly I don't even sell it (yet).

I understand what your saying but you should understand that I am obviously not coming from the same place as you at all.

Plus there is a story and plot in both however the second one is fairly personal and if I told you it would make sense, the first one is conceptual and if you aren't into thinking then you probably wouldn't get it.

If you got some cool imagery out of it than that is really what I am going for.

Look at Tool, can you pick out a narrative on almost any of the songs on Lateralus? I can but I have a lot of experiences that let me know what they are talking about, plus I have thought about it. Maybe you don't know what "the Grudge" is about. I know exactly what it is about though, in fact I have lived it, but if you haven't then you have no idea.

I gotta mention the Mars Volta again. Deloused is an incredibly interesting Science fiction story about a guy's dreams while he is in a coma. You would never really know it unless you knew it though. and even then it is still crazy conceptual and doesn't make a lot of real sense, but tell me how often you have dreams that really make sense when you start to look at them in relation to "reality". However not only do the vocals work amazingly with the music but they all still convey the feeling they are meant to, at least they do if you "get it". I don't know, maybe they don't for everyone but it makes sense to me and they paint an incredibly rich, deep and complex story.